Testimonials

Reputation Matters!

Over the last 25 years, Gems of La Costa has earned a reputation for quality, integrity and value. We have a professional staff dedicated to your satisfaction with prices and policies established to earn your repeat and referral business. But, we don’t think you should take our word for it…

Read some of our 5 Star Reviews on Yelp from some of our clients for fine jewelry, custom design and diamond engagement rings in Carlsbad and Encinitas.

BBB-icon yelp55yp55googleplusicon

Lauren S.
Encinitas, CA
5 star rating on Yelp

I have nothing but great things to say about the staff at Gems of La Costa. I recently worked with them to create a custom engagement ring setting for my original stone. I sent pictures of what I liked and in just a few weeks they were able to replicate it perfectly!  They showed me CAD drawings ahead of time so I could get a good look at it before it was made. Everything from their customer service, price, and finished product I was very impressed. They met my needs perfectly and really listened to what I wanted. Thank you Gems of La Costa for creating my dream ring!

Chris L.
Costa Mesa, CA
5 star rating on Yelp

2/7/2013

In the last couple weeks I searched for an engagement ring for my girlfriend. I performed a Google search to locate all jewelry stores in the city of Carlsbad and surrounding vicinity (I visited about a dozen stores). I opted to not read consumer reviews and to visit each store with an unbiased approach to search for the perfect engagement ring. Gems of La Costa was by far above the others in customer service and quality (most stores were….Cash for Gold, jewelry pawnshops, factory direct that had a poor quality and selection).

Dale did not have a diamond in-store that appeased my standards, however, he took the time to reach out to his contacts and gather approximately 7 stones that fit my standards for the 4-C’s. Of the collection I found the diamond expressing the characteristics that met my standards and was with in my price range. Dale also took the time to find the correct setting to accentuate the quality of my diamond.

Some people will tell a person searching for an engagement ring, that the fiancee will only see the size and brilliance of a diamond. I disagree; if the diamond around her finger was internally flawed, too colored, and was an unsatisfactory size (regardless of the brilliance) to an excessive degree, the thought of an unsatisfactory diamond would haunt me. Dale took the time and effort to make sure I would not be haunted by “buyers remorse.” My fiancee greatly appreciated the extensive effort I undertook to create the perfect ring she now wears.

I recommend visiting Gems of La Costa in your search…. you will notice the difference.

Susan M.
Redmond, OR
5 star rating on Yelp
11/2/2012

This family business, owned by Dale and Linda Condy, stands head and shoulders above anything in the area. The staff really works hard of behalf of their customers and they bend over backwards to find you unique and beautiful pieces at the best prices. If they don’t have what you want in stock, they will find you just what you want very quickly. I once bought a necklace and bracelet absolutely identical to a set Tiffany’s was selling, at less than half of Tiffany’s price.

Brandon B.Carlsbad, CA

5 star rating on Yelp7/2/2012

It is rare to not only find someone who is exceptional at his craft, but even more rare to find a jeweler that has your best interests at heart and looks to save you money. Who does that?

Dale at Gems of La Costa.I was looking to upgrade my wife’s diamond and interviewed numerous local jewelers. I ended up going with Dale because…

Number 1:  He is a gemologist.

Number 2:  His depth of knowledge on diamonds was most impressive in comparison to his competitors.I found him to be very genuine, honest and forthcoming in all our dealings. To fit the upgraded (larger) diamond, I was told we would also have to create a whole new platinum setting. Dale knew how sentimental my wife was in keeping the original platinum (heck, I got down on one knee with that thing!), so I was surprised and thrilled to hear from Dale that he could actually work with the original platinum setting (saving me thousands) and making my wife cry (in a good way!)Her new diamond is brilliant and wherever she goes, the compliments are flying!If you like top quality, excellent service and saving money, run (fast) from the mall chain stores and go see Dale.

Kenny L.
5 star rating on Yelp
7/27/2012

I have a two tone customized wedding band that is expensive and that is very important to me. After losing weight my ring size went down from a 12 to a 9.75.I have been to several jewellery stores and asked about resizing, including the one were I originally bought the ring in New York City. I got a consistent answer, ” You cant re-size a customized wedding band.”I went into Gems actually looking for a cheap replacement wedding band and they suggested I resize my ring (which would make them less money).

I said ok as worst case I cant wear the ring (it was too big so I could barely wear it anyway) and if it looked good I’d have saved a bunch of money.

A week later and they called me to come pick it up. There is a slight blemish where the ring was taken in which is noticeable ONLY if one looks closely and knows to look for it.

I’m very happy that I went with the work they did and so happy to be able to wear my ring once more. I mentioned that I read about them on Yelp and they gave me their Yelp discount so I’m paying forward the good reviews I read.

Great service, great people, great atmosphere. I’m very happy I found them on Yelp.


Bridget A. , Carlsbad, CA
5 star rating on Yelp
6/1/2011

I have had the pleasure of meeting with Dale quite a few times over the last two months to design an engagement ring and and I can’t say enough about how wonderful the experience has been.

I am a chick so you would think that the whole engagement ring thing would make me giddy as a school girl…..absolutely not! It is a frickin roller coaster ride! Initially when you are checking out ring ideas there is some excitement, but then the number of choices, the prices, and the process bring you down pretty fast.

My fiance was a bit nervous about picking out a ring for me, I don’t blame him I had no idea what I wanted so why would he know. Being the nerdy girl I am I did a little homework. I found a couple ring designs I like and a store that sold those rings. I went into the store to scout it out and told them exactly what I wanted, the design, the price cap, and even got pictures. I gave my fiance the info and felt pretty good about this whole ring thing….then the first negative-G!

Basically he went in there, they ignored him at first, they pushed him toward the higher priced rings, and then said they would have the manager I spoke with call him back 5 days later. That roller coaster drop came out of nowhere and boy was it steep!

I didn’t go to Dale initially because he didn’t carry the brand I wanted but he was the first person I called when this happened. Dale was great, he talked me off of the ledge and walked me through the process of designing my own ring. I was a bit skeptical about being creative enough to design a ring but Dale made it sound so simple that I thought what-the-H let’s go for it.

My fiance and I met with Dale, looked at different designs, stones ( I wanted an emerald cut blue sapphire, Dale thought a cushion cut would give me more of what I wanted – he was right), and then went to work. The process was awesome, don’t get me wrong, it was still a bit stressful, designing a ring of this importance brings with it some trepidation, but Dale kept us on task, on schedule, and on budget.

Dale is great about educating the buyer on stones, metals, design and functionality. He gave us options, ideas, and guidance. There were no more negative-G’s for me! We will be going back to Dale for years to come….I mean I do need some earrings and a necklace to match this ring right! 😉

Rose S. on Facebook

4/28/2011

It’s always a pleasure to shop at Gems of La Costa-they have beautiful jewelry, and everyone there is friendly, fun and knowledgeable!


Michelle V. Chicago, IL 5 star rating on Yelp 12/20/2010

Dale is amazing!!! He’s a great friend of my grandmothers and when it came time for my fiance to propose he went through Dale for the diamond. He was given a couple of ideas of what we were looking for and Dale found the most BEAUTIFUL diamond I have ever seen. I’m so in love with it!! Gems of La Costa is amazing and I highly suggest it for anyone interested!! Thanks Dale for everything!!!


Karen L Carlsbad, CA

12/15/2010

I want to thank you for everything, I LOVE my ring and without all of your hard work and dedication, it would have never happened. I am so glad to know that I can come into the store and feel as though I am among good friends!


Justin H. Oceanside, CA

5 star rating on Yelp

12/11/2010

If you are looking for the feel of a small local business with the expertise of a much larger one, then this is the place. Throw in great personal service and, in my case an amazingly fast turn-around on an engagement ring. Dale and his staff were helpful, had just the right selection size and I never felt pushed toward something I didn’t want. A great business run by great people.


Megan L. Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

5 star rating on Yelp

10/25/2010

My fiance just got my engagement band & setting from Gems of La Costa, and we had a wonderful experience with Dale and staff. They were very friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. We had sourced the diamond already, and came in looking for a unique ring to set the stone in. Dale sent over some ideas over email for us to look at and we exchanged thoughts, and we were so happy that he picked out a dainty but structural setting that we fell for! We really felt it was a great reflection of us. In addition, Dale was able to produce the finished product in a compressed timeline in order for us to have the ring before we went on a trip to see friends & family. While we knew that “things happen” and it might not have been ready, we were so happy when it was ready early! Definitely recommend using Gems of La Costa. It’s important that we keep good local businesses around. It was a pleasure!


Adam D. 8-19-2010

Untouchable service, pricing, cleanliness and selections. I was extremely happy with the purchase I made. A very relaxed environment. I have been to more than a handful of jewelry stores and I have to say hands down Gems of La Costa will be the jewelry store I’ll be seeing, to surprise and aw my wife with beautiful diamonds and special gifts. Thank you Gems of La Costa

Lifetime Customer

Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By mary – Jun 20, 2010

No need to go anywhere else. We searched muliple jewelry stores looking for the perfect engagement ring and ran into pushy sales personnel and still didn’t find anything that appealed to us. Then we found Gems of La Costa and talked with Dale. He is very passionate about what he does. Together we created an original, beautiful ring that we will cherish forever. The quality of the ring is amazing! We will be a lifetime customer of Gems of La Costa and we now know why they have been is business for this long. We love Gems of La Costa!!!!!‎

Cathy K – June 19, 2010

Great Jeweler, Great people. We went to Dale and he made a custom diamond ring that I love. Saved money, better quality and better service. Would highly recommend

Best Jeweler- Gems of La Costa‎‎

 

Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By Sharon – May 27, 2010

I have been getting all of my jewelry from Dale and Linda Condy for the past 25 years. I love their store in Carlsbad, Gems of La Costa, and visit it whenever I am in town. I love their taste in jewelry and always find just what I was looking for. They have everything from beautiful gemstones and diamonds to enameled pendants. I have purchased rings, necklaces, earrings- all types of jewelry from them and have never been disappointed. My latest purchase was actually done over the internet. I wanted a 2 carat oval diamond to replace my original 1 carat diamond in my wedding ring- after 25 years of marriage. Dale was so accommodating. He ordered in various oval diamonds, photographed them on my ring (which I had shipped to him) so I could see size and how it would look. He found the most beautifully cut oval diamond which he then remounted on my original ring. This did require some resetting as the other diamond had been considerably smaller. I am so pleased with my ring. It is all I could ever have imagined. And dealing with both Dale and Linda is always such a pleasure. I just found out that they won the best small business award in 2010 and I believe it is well deserved and long overdue. I would recommend them for all your jewelry needs. You will get the most beautiful and highest quality pieces and the best value. Thank you, Dale, for my beautiful ring. My husband and I are both thrilled.


Brittany K.

Awhile ago I bent one of my favorite rings and have not been able to wear it. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that one, Gems of La Costa could fix it and two, they did so on the spot. It completely made my day and I would recommend them to anyone based on their amazing customer service! They were just so friendly and ready to help.


Erica C.

Gems of La Costa is our favorite jeweler. They have exquisite pieces and are a pleasure to work with. Any time I receive one of those little dark blue boxes, I know I am going to love what‘s inside.


Mimi G. – December 10, 2009

It has been too many years to count, but I would never go anywhere else to get my jewelry, unless it is a specific “horsey” item. Thanks for many years of excellent and friendly service.


Elaine L. December 7, 2009

My favorite gem shop for decades!


Cathryn G. October 6, 2009

Dale and Linda are the BEST!! All of my “good stuff” is from Gems. (And I’m always getting compliments.) You can ALWAYS depend on them for unique items at great prices–and their honesty and integrity in the industry is beyond reproach. A field trip to Gems with new friends is one of my favorite things. 🙂

Cathy


Lane S. 10-3-09

My fiance purchased my engagement ring here.  The service from Dale and Linda was amazing.  They are extremely knowledgeable (I learned a lot in this process) and dedicated to their customers.  I LOVE the result and the process was fun. Going into ring shopping I was a little skeptical.  I had heard horror stories of pushy sales people and steeply inflated prices.  I wanted a ring that was unique and different than what could be found in your typical engagement ring store. I was concerned that doing a custom design would be costly and difficult.  Meeting with Dale put me at complete ease.  I brought in some photos (from internet searches) of a ring close to what I wanted.  My fiance and I spoke with Dale at length about what I wanted and the practicality of different stones and settings.  My fiance and Dale took it from there, finding just the right diamond and working with craftsperson on the setting.  I haven’t been able to stop looking at my ring (except to look at my fiance) since we got engaged 2 weeks ago. I’ve gotten a ton of compliments on how beautiful and unique my ring is.

Great Jewelry, Great Service‎‎

Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By UChicago GSB: part-time 08-09-10 – Aug 21, 2009

Dale and Linda went out of their way to assist my fiance and I in purchasing our engagement and wedding rings. Dale’s attention to detail resulted in 3 amazing rings that we couldn’t have imagined without him. Two of the three rings were ordered over email; after several conversations Dale had our rings made and sent to us. They all turned out perfect! We will certainly be turning to Dale and Linda in the future as we are so happy with what they have done for us. You won’t find a more trustworthy jeweler, especially when considering purchasing a diamond, I highly recommend them whether you are in Carlsbad or considering an internet purchase.‎

A great place for jewelry‎‎

Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By Black Badger – Aug 19, 2009

Any time you’re looking for a unique and beautiful piece of jewelry for yourself or someone you care about head over to see Dale and his staff at Gems of La Costa. They’ve helped me find the perfect item on more than one occasion, including my wife’s engagement and wedding rings. The service is above reproach and the selection is amazing. Gems of La Costa is truly one of the best.‎

A Must Visit

Chris – August 14, 2009

Gems of La Costa is a great shop for all sorts of designer and traditional jewelry. Their prices are excellent and Dale will do everything he can to make sure you leave happy. They’ve provided my wife and I with several wonderful pieces, including her wedding and engagement rings. These guys are the best.


Beautiful items, very helpful‎‎

Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 By 4mattsons – Aug 13, 2009

I was looking for a special piece for our anniversary that apparently is not commonly in the stores. I called ahead to verify that they had something I might be interested in. Not only did they have the best selection in North County, but once I got there the prices were reasonable and Dale and Linda were very knowledgeable and helpful. I had an excellent experience!‎

Trustworthy… and Excellent‎

By tpguess – Mar 27, 2008

We’ve known Dale Conde the owner of Gem’s of La Costa for years. We met when active in the Carlsbad Chamber of Commerce. We’ve referred friends and clients to Dale… and never been sorry. … …‎

 

Structured Data, Review
Title: Testimonials
Reviewed by Adam D. on Jul 10
Rating: 5.0
Summary: Untouchable service, pricing, cleanliness and selections.
Description: Untouchable service, pricing, cleanliness and selections. I was extremely happy with the purchase I made. A very relaxed environment. I have been to more than a handful of jewelry stores and I have to say hands down Gems of La Costa will be the jewelry store I’ll be seeing, to surprise and aw my wife with beautiful diamonds and special gifts. Thank you Gems of La Costa